John Hatahoka’s Disqualification Controversy on Tour: Discrimination or Misunderstanding? Hatahoka’s Perspective and LPGA’s Response Sparks Debate in the US

Source: 【ゴルフ】畑岡奈紗のツアー中の失格の真相は?日本人差別で”私人逮捕”?畑岡奈紗が納得できないと話す理由とLPGAの言い分とは?米国でも畑岡擁護する声が…/バチバチ芸能 有名人の確執や恋愛(


Controversy surrounds Japanese golfer Nao Hatakeyama’s disqualification from a recent LPGA tour event. Allegations of discrimination and an unjust “private arrest” have sparked outrage, with supporters rallying behind the player. This incident raises questions about the LPGA’s handling of the situation and the challenges faced by international athletes on the global stage.
  • Nao Hataoka, a Japanese golfer, was disqualified from a U.S. LPGA Tour event for exceeding the 3-minute ball search time limit.
  • The LPGA stated that Hataoka’s ball was lost in the long grass, and she exceeded the 3-minute search time, leading to her disqualification.
  • Hataoka was confused by the incident and did not believe she had exceeded the time limit, but the rules are clear and she was disqualified.
  • Some fans and commentators in the U.S. have defended Hataoka, suggesting that she may have been the victim of discrimination against Japanese players.
  • The LPGA has faced criticism for its handling of the situation, with calls for more consistent enforcement of the ball search time rule across all players.

See Video for details.


Nana Hatakeyama’s Disqualification from the LPGA Tour

Hatakeyama’s Background and Early Career

Nana Hatakeyama, whose full name is Nana Hatakeyama, is a Japanese professional golfer. She was given the name “Nana” by her parents, who were inspired by the name of the American space agency NASA. Hatakeyama started playing golf at the age of 11 and had success in track and field as a teenager, competing in the 200m event at the prefectural championships. She attended a high school focused on communications before transferring to a school that allowed her to focus more on golf.

The Disqualification Incident

The incident that led to Hatakeyama’s disqualification occurred during the second round of a tournament on the LPGA Tour in New Jersey. On the 9th hole, a par 5, Hatakeyama’s second shot landed in thick rough. After searching for the ball for over 3 minutes, the time limit allowed under the rules, she was disqualified for failing to properly proceed under the rules.

LPGA’s Explanation and Hatakeyama’s Reaction

The LPGA stated that Hatakeyama had played her third shot from the wrong location, as she should have taken a penalty stroke for the lost ball. However, Hatakeyama claimed she was unaware that the search time had exceeded 3 minutes. She expressed frustration with the decision, feeling that a minor infraction did not warrant disqualification.

Debate Around Potential Discrimination

The incident sparked debate, with some suggesting that Hatakeyama, as a Japanese player, was unfairly targeted or subject to discrimination. Prominent figures in the golf media defended Hatakeyama, criticizing the LPGA’s handling of the situation and calling for more consistent enforcement of the rules.

Impact on Hatakeyama’s Season

The disqualification was a significant setback for Hatakeyama, as it occurred just before a major championship. She was unable to compete in the next event on the LPGA Tour, leaving her with limited opportunities to improve her standing before the end of the season.

Lessons and Implications for the LPGA

The Hatakeyama incident highlighted the need for clearer rules and more consistent enforcement on the LPGA Tour. It also raised questions about the role of television viewers and media in identifying potential rule violations, and whether such input should be considered in determining penalties.

Q&A: Nao Hatakeyama’s Disqualification Controversy

Q: What was the reason for Nasa Hataoka’s disqualification during the US LPGA Tour event?

A: According to the LPGA’s statement, Hataoka was disqualified because she exceeded the 3-minute search time limit when looking for her ball in the long grass on the 9th hole during the first round.

Q: Why was Hataoka not satisfied with the disqualification?

A: Hataoka felt that the 3-minute rule is ambiguous, as there is no clear way to determine the exact start time of the search. She also argued that many professional golfers often exceed the 3-minute limit slightly when searching for their balls, and the LPGA should have a more consistent way of enforcing the rule.

Q: What were the reactions from the US media and public regarding Hataoka’s disqualification?

A: Some in the US media and public felt that Hataoka was unfairly targeted due to her being Japanese, and that the LPGA should be more consistent in applying the rules across all players. Prominent golf commentator Tripp Isenhour defended Hataoka and criticized the LPGA’s handling of the situation.

Video: What is the truth behind Nasa Hatakoka’s disqualification during the tour? Was it due to Japanese discrimination and “private arrest”? What are the reasons Nasa Hatakoka is unsatisfied with, and what is the LPGA’s stance? There are also voices supporting Hatakoka in the US.

Let's share this post !